ALI WOODSON: SOUL INTERPRETATIONS (SoulMusic Records (SMR)/Platinum Garage Recordings)

ALI WOODSON: SOUL INTERPRETATIONS (SoulMusic Records (SMR)/Platinum Garage Recordings)

Track listing:

1. Drama in the Bedroom
2. Baby, Just Fill in the Blanks
3. Right Here All Along
4. Blackberry
5. And Then We Touched
6. Dreaming Wide Awake (duet with Freda Payne)
7. I Want You Everlasting
8. You’ve Got to Believe That
9. Misty Morning
10. Never Underestimate the Power of a Woman
11. Where Would We Be Without the Music
12. My Na Na
13. I Could Fall in Love
14. Girl Don’t Walk Away

With one of the greatest and most distinctive voices in contemporary music, the late Ali Woodson enjoyed a distinguished career as the lead singer of the legendary Temptations (1984–86, then 1988-96) performing worldwide and giving the Motown stalwarts one of their biggest hits with 1984’s “Treat Her Like A Lady” as well as 1986’s US R&B hit single, “Lady Soul.”

A multifaceted performer, Ali played several instruments including keyboards, bass, and drums; he wrote his own music, lyrics, and arrangements, and produced recordings. His incredible vocals and unbelievable range led him to work with many of the other greats in the industry. He performed with longtime friend Queen of Soul’, Aretha Franklin as well as Natalie Cole, Whitney Houston, Chaka Khan, Patti Austin, “The Godfather of Soul” James Brown, Lou Rawls, Bobby Womack and many others.

This 2018 SoulMusic Records/Platinum Garage Recordings release features new mixes of recordings by Ali, twelve of which (including “Dreaming Wide Awake,” a wonderful duet with the legendary Freda Payne) were originally produced by award-winning music man Preston Glass who considers Ali to be one of the greatest vocalists he’s ever worked with.