MAXAYN: Reloaded: Complete Recordings 1972-1974  (SMCR-5164T)

MAXAYN: Reloaded: Complete Recordings 1972-1974 (SMCR-5164T)

Track listing:

Disc: 1
1. Trying for Days
2. Song
3. You Can’t Always Get What You Want
4. Jam for Jack
5. Gimme Shelter
6. Let Me Be Your Friend
7. Doing Nothing, Nothing Doing
8. Beloved

Disc: 2
1. Moan to the Music
2. Love Is Near
3. Good Things
4. Stone Crazy
5. Tellin’ You
6. Feelin’
7. The Answer
8. Check Out Your Mind
9. I Want to Rest My Mind
10. Travelin’

Disc: 3
1. Bail Out
2. Life Is What You Make It
3. Cried My Last Tear
4. Moonfunk
5. Fun
6. You Don’t Have to Be Lonely
7. Trying for Days
8. Everything Begins With You

To 60s and 70s Soul aficionados, Maxayn Lewis should need little introduction. As a
tremendous session vocalist, her name appears on the credits of innumerable records
from the 1960s onwards.

In the late 1960s, she was recruited to join The Ikettes for an Ike and Tina Turner world

In the early 1970s, she and her husband formed Maxayn – a funk/rock/soul quartet with
psychedelic leanings. The three albums Maxayn made for Capricorn Records remain
popular to this day, but have never been issued on CD or download – until now!

Following the dissolution of Maxayn, Lewis continued to be a constantly-in-demand
studio and touring backing vocalist, working with Brenda Russell, Madonna, Dionne
Warwick, Celine Dion, Diana Ross, Michael Jackson and many others.

For the first time, Reloaded presents the three albums which Maxayn recorded for
Capricorn Records – Maxayn, Mindful and Bail Out For Fun! The package includes
faithful reproductions of the original artwork for each album, with a substantial booklet
boasting a 5,000-word sleeve-note and lots of rare photographs.

Maxayn’s eponymous debut boasted two impressive funk-rock Rolling Stones covers
(‘Gimme Shelter’, ‘You Can’t Always Get What You Want’) alongside some superb band

Mindful was perhaps funkier than its predecessor, including a reworking of Curtis
Mayfield’s ‘Check Out Your Mind’ (which Maxayn performed on Soul Train).

The band’s third and final album continued to blend infectious funk workouts with soul
ballads to great effect.

Reloaded is released with the full blessing of the group’s singer Maxayn Lewis.