CLIF PAYNE: Too CD (SoulMusic Records/Platinum Garage Recordings)

CLIF PAYNE: Too CD (SoulMusic Records/Platinum Garage Recordings)

SoulMusic Records in association with Platinum Garage Recordings is proud to announce the release of the brand new album by renowned singer/songwriter Clif Payne’s latest album “Too,”  a power-packed collection that includes a new duet with the legendary Freda Payne with whom he scored a UK Top 10 soul hit in 2016, “No Payne, No Gain.”

Continuing where his 2016 debut album (“Welcome To My World”) left off, renowned singer/songwriter Clif Payne follows up with a power- packed collection of songs he so aptly has entitled “Too”. Like his well-received first album, Clif’s latest CD (produced by award-winning music man Preston Glass with associate producer Larry Batiste) includes a soulful duet with the legendary Freda Payne (no sibling relation – at least not to their knowledge): “Yesterday’s Payne, Tomorrow’s Joy” follows the UK Top 10 soul hit, “No Payne, No Gain,” two remixes of which by UK producer Nigel Lowis are included on this 2018 musically-satisfying set.

A cover of the Stevie Wonder perennial, “Another Star,” and “Get Up, Get Busy” penned by SoulMusic Records’ founder David Nathan and Byron Motley are among the album’s standouts along with a number of Payne-Glass-Batiste originals including the jazz-inflected “(Easily) Breezy,” the finger-snappin’ “Because Of You,” the fast-paced “Go Back To What You Know,” the head-boppin’ title track and the uplifting “Heaven Is Watching” (penned by the trio with Louis Biancaniello.

Harlem-born, Bay Area-based Clif has worked with a plethora of major artists including Evelyn “Champagne” King, Norman Connors, Bobby McFerrin, Ellis Hall, Sheena Easton, American Idol judge & vocal coach Peggy Blu, Four Play drummer Harvey Mason, jazz fusionists Hiroshima and former Chicago vocalist Bill Champlin and has opened shows for the likes of Dan Siegel, Tony Bennett, Johnny Mathis and Dionne Warwick.

In addition to his own “Welcome To My World,” Clif can be heard on two Preston Glass projects – “Dyanamic Duets” and 2017’s “Love & Compassion,” the latter released via SoulMusic Records and Platnum Garage Recordings as is “Too,” a musical masterpiece that is sure to please Clif’s growing global audience!


PRESTON GLASS PRESENTS: DYNAMIC DUETS 2 (SoulMusic Records/Platinum Garage Recordings)

PRESTON GLASS PRESENTS: DYNAMIC DUETS 2 (SoulMusic Records/Platinum Garage Recordings)

Track listing:
1. Same Page – Brenda Holloway & Rags Moody III
2. Soul Candy – Jacnique Nina & Brandon Wattz
3. Always On The Lookout For Love – Grady Harrell & Brenda Lee Eager
4. Yesterday’s Payne, Tomorrow’s Joy – Clif Payne & Freda Payne
5. Drowning In You – Eugene Cole & Karyn White
6. Nothing Like It (Love) – Preston Glas& & Talita Long
7. Songbird (NL Mix) – Jacnique Nina & Phillip Ingram
8. You Make Me Feel Brand New – Angel Rose & Tony Lindsay
9. Music Is Healing – Chubby Tavares & Pattie Brooks
10. Leap Of Faith – Susan Therese & Jason Weaver
11. I Remember – Terry Dexter & Johnny Manuel (Bonus Cut)
12. Midnight Maneuvers – Jacnique Nina & King James Brown (Bonus Cut)

Award-winning producer/songwriter Preston Glass presents his second collection of inspired musical pairings of established R&B/soul and pop hitmakers – including Karyn White, Freda Payne, Brenda Holloway, Grady Harrell, Brenda Lee Eager, Terry Dexter, Phillip Ingram, Chubby Tavares and Pattie Brooks – with up-and-coming artists such as Jason Weaver, Susan Therese, Tony Lindsay, Clif Payne, Jacnique Nina, Johnny Manuel, Eugene Cole, Angel Rose, Talita Long, Brandon Watts and Rags Moody III on an array of original material, with two notable covers – The Stylistics’ “You Make Me Feel Brand New” (performed here by Angel Rose & Tony Lindsay; and Kenny G’s classic “Songbird” (originally produced by Preston) given a vocal treatment by Jacnique Nina & Phillip Ingram).

Highlights include (4) tracks that have already gained soul music chart success in the UK, notably “Same Page” by Motown legend Brenda Holloway and Rags Moody III; “I Remember,” the powerhouse duet between US hitmaker Terry Dexter and Johnny Manuel (of ‘America’s Got Talent’ fame); “Yesterday’s Payne, Tomorrow’s Joy,” by iconic songstress Freda Payne and Clif Payne; and “Always On The Lookout For Love,” by R&B chartmakers Grady Harrell and Brenda Lee Eager (of “Ain’t Understanding Mellow” fame).

Executive Producers: David Nathan & Preston Glass