1. There’s No Me Without You
  2. You’d Better Believe It
  3. Wish That You Were Mine
  4. Summertime in the City
  5. Don’t Take Your Love
  6. That’s How Much I Love You
  7. Hurt
  8. Kiss and Say Goodbye
  9. I Kinda Miss You
  10. Gypsy Man
  11. It Feels So Good To Be Loved So Bad
  12. We Never Danced To A Love Song
  13. There’s No Good In Goodbye
  14. Am I Losing You
  15. Everybody Has A Dream
  16. Love Talk
  17. Here Comes the Hurt Again
  18. The Way We Were/Memories

 DISC 2:  SHINING STAR (1980-1987)

  1. Shining Star
  2. Girl Of My Dream
  3. Cloudy, With A Chance Of Tears
  4. I’ll Never Find Another Like You (Find Another Like You)
  5. Do You Really Mean Goodbye?
  6. Just One Moment Away
  7. Let Your Love Come Down
  8. Honey, Honey
  9. Crazy
  10. Forever By Your Side
  11. Just The Lonely Talking Again
  12. You Send Me
  13. Don’t Say No (With B.J. Nelson)
  14. Where Did We Go Wrong? (With Regina Belle)
  15. I’m Through Trying To Prove My Love To You
  16. All I Need
  17. Neither One Of Us (Wants To Be The First To Say Goodbye)
  • SoulMusic Records is very proud to present “I Kinda Miss You – The Anthology: Columbia Records,1973-87,” a spectacular first-of-its-kind 2-CD set by the legendary Manhattans that includes all of the soulful group’s charted singles recorded for the label over almost fifteen years along with choice cuts from the dozen albums the team cut and one non-LP ‘B’ side (“Gypsy Man”).

 Formed in the late ‘50s by original members Winfred ‘Blue’ Lovett, Edward ‘Sonny’ Bivins and Richard Taylor, The Manhattans enjoyed some success with Carnival Records in 1965, before switching to DeLuxe Records where (with Gerald Alston as lead singer), they had their first Top 10 hit in 1972 with “One Life To Life.”

 Moving to Columbia Records in 1973, The Manhattans began a run of hit singles and best-selling albums that started with the classic ballad, “There’s No Me Without You” and ended 1979’s upbeat “All I Need.” Disc 1 of this very satisfying anthology traces the group’s stellar work primarily with Philadelphia soul producer Bobby Martin and includes the No. 1 international hit, “Kiss And Say Goodbye” along with amazing ballads such as “It Feels So Good To Be Loved By You,” “We Never Danced To A Love Song” and “I Kinda Miss You.”  Other standouts include the group’s version of Billy Joel’s “Everybody Has A Dream,” “Here Comes The Hurt Again” and a medley of “The Way We Were” with The Temptations’ “Memories.”

 Disc 2 focuses on the group’s work with various producers including Chicago-based Leo Graham, responsible for the massive hit “Shining Star”; Morrie Brown who provided “Crazy,” a US and UK charted hit; and soul legend Bobby Womack who produced “Where Did We Go Wrong” featuring future hitmaker, Regina Belle. Highlights also include the original of Sam Dees’ “Just The Lonely Talking Again” (later a hit for Whitney Houston) and the hidden gem, “Cloudy, With A Chance Of Tears.”

Extensive liner notes by renowned UK writer Charles Waring include quotes from group members; with excellent mastering by Nick Robbins.



There are no reviews yet.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *