Change Background:
The Ultimate Destination for Soul Music
Home Classic Soul Archives Artist A-Z Features SoulMusic Records Voice Your Choice Soul Talkin' Reviews Hall of Fame The Soul Store
Home Page Signup Forgotten Username and Password Log In Discussion Groups About

Track listing:

1. How Come U Don't Call Me Anymore?
2. Never Get Enough of You
3. Eternal Love
4. His Name Is Michael (duet with Peggi Blu)
5. Here I Am
6. My Body
7. Do You Love Him?
8. Pilot Error
9. Since We've Been Together

Bonus Tracks:
10. Pilot Error (US 12” Club Mix)
11. Hold Me Close to You (from the soundtrack of “All The Right Moves”)

• Released in 1983, MERCILESS was the second of the three albums that powerhouse vocalist Stephanie Mills recorded for Casablanca and preceeded “I’ve Got The Cure”(reissued as an expanded edition by SoulMusic Records in 2013).

• The New York-born singer had already achieved consistent hitmaking status in the U.S. thanks to the best-selling albums and a slew of hit singles that had established the former Broadway star of ‘The Wiz’ as a potent and dynamic recording artist and live performer.

• The production of MERCILESS was supervised by famed music man Phil Ramone and industry mogul Charles Koppelman, with sessions handled by the team of David Wolfert and Gary Klein (the team behind The Four Tops’ early ‘80s hit, “When She Was My Girl”). The album included “My Body,” a song written especially for Stephanie by Luther Vandross; her ultra-soulful cover of Prince’s “How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore?” (a US Top 20 R&B hit); and the humour-filled “His Name Is Michael,” co-written by the singer and featuring one of her background vocalists at the time, soul singer Peggi Blu.

• Out of print for many years on CD, this SoulMusic Records’ expanded edition includes two bonus tracks – a 12” club mix of “Pilot Error” (also a US Top 20 R&B hit single) and “Hold Me Close to You” (from the soundtrack of the Tom Cruise film, “All The Right Moves”) along with liner notes by renowned US writer Kevin Goins including quotes from producer Wolfert and guitarist Michael Sembello who played on sessions for the album.

About the Writer
David Nathan is the founder and CEO of and began his writing career in 1965; beginning in 1967, he was a regular contributor to Blues & Soul magazine in London before relocating to the U.S. in 1975 where he served as U.S. editor for the publication for several decades and began being known as 'The British Ambassador Of Soul.' From 1988 to 2004, he wrote prolifically for Billboard, has penned bios, produced and written liner notes for box sets and reissue CDs for over a thousand projects. He returned to London in 2009 where he has helped create Records as a leading reissue label.
Sound Track



Members Comments

STEPHANIE MILLS: TANTALIZINGLY HOT Expanded Edition (Caroline/SoulMusic Records
Read More ...
Stephanie Mills - Voice Your Choice With David Nathan
Read More ...
STEPHANIE MILLS: Merciless Expanded Edition (SMR)
Read More ...